Saturday, November 10, 2012

Thank You Master: The Review

Juliana Sells, psychologist to Chicago’s wealthy, listens as patients share stories of BDSM and encourages strength, equality and independence. Allowing a man to dominate her life, will and body seems incomprehensible; until she encounters Detective Derek Terrill. Brought together by fate, the detective is required to see Dr. Sells for counseling related to a police-action shooting. During their last session Detective Terrill confronts Dr. Sells, telling her he senses her obvious submissive tendencies. He challenges her to confront her unmet desires and explore submission, sexual slavery and discipline.

Unable to deny her attraction or physical response, Juliana agrees to meet him, even obeying his absurd demand to appear without pantyhose or panties. Upon arrival, she’s shocked and humiliated to discover his lesson includes physical punishment. During her spanking he introduces her to the world of pain mixed with pleasure. Seemingly incomprehensibly, Juliana discovers pleasure intensifies exponentially when associated with agony. She succumbs to the incredible turn-on she experiences at his hand.

The next evening she meets him, at Inferno, a BDSM club, where Terrill works security. She witnesses scenes of female domination and quickly deduces the small silver locket Derek required her to wear has meaning, both as protection and informing others she is “owned”.

While there, Juliana not only witnesses submission, she experiences it. Physically Derek demands oral gratification and stakes his claim on her virgin anus. Mentally he requires her to behave in a degrading manner. Submitting to the public humiliation and physical degradation makes her hot and wet. Yet, she questions why a woman would want to give-up herself to be someone’s property. He explains it’s not about giving-up. It’s about consensual submission to your master’s control. He proposes a weekend of total submission, where at the conclusion, she can decide if she is willing to call him Master.

Can a weekend of degradation, subjection, pain and passion all at the hands of a dominate man change Juliana’s life forever? Is the pain he inflicts too much for the pleasure, or has Juliana finally found the man she’s willing to call Master?

BDSM, Anal sex, M/f, slavery, D/s and dubious consent

What would you do if you were a psychiatrist and heard all about women's adventures in the BDSM world and were infernally curious, despite yourself?

What is the lure? Why in God's name would a perfectly sane and intelligent woman subject herself the slavery and abuse her patients tell her about? Why would it make you squirm in your chair and long for something you have never known?

The story in Thank You Master is a journey of sorts. Juliana has been seeing Derek as a shrink but during one session power shifts dramatically, landing her on a slippery precipice. This short novella has hard edges, gritty humiliation, brutal sex, but above all, a path toward Juliana finding the missing pieces of her life.

Some of the scenes in this story are not for the faint of heart. As Derek breaks down Juliana's haughty exterior, he uses humiliation to show her how freeing the life of a slave can be. The voice of the novel is smooth and I was able to identify with Juliana on a deep level, living each event with her. There was no distance between the characters and reader. As I read, some of the extreme measures that Derek used to bring Juliana to heel were shocking to me, but I kept reading voraciously. 

The basis for the story was this: BDSM is about consensual activities between the Dom and his slave/sub. Even when you are reading and flinch at a slap or cringe at the sub drinking water from a bowl on the floor, all of these things could be stopped at any moment, should the sub wish it. Tough love is the phrase that comes to mind.

I liked this book and found the dark erotica elements both chilling but utterly absorbing. Juliana's foray into the world of BDSM was an adventure and I am looking forward to more books by this author. Fans of Lizbeth Dusseau, Kitty Thomas, Bianca Sommerland, Candice Blevins and Skye Warren will enjoy this book.

Many thanks to Pink Flamingo Publications for sending a copy of the book for review. For more of their titles, please visit their site.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!